"Yes" greyed out on User Account Control

What User Account Control Does

User Account Control Box Keeps Coming Up
The gray out is secure desktop mode, a good but older explanation: If you set UAC to never notify, you should be careful about which apps you run, because they'll have the same access to the PC as you do. Thermaltake Toughpower W Cooling: If you already have good, updated virus protection, I would continue onward by deleting all your temp files. One surprise — at least to me, was that changing the UAC setting in this way affects all users who logon to your Windows 8 machine.

Related pages

User Account Control

Configure Validation Dialog Box. Confirm Deletion Dialog Box. Connect to Site Dialog Box. Custom Schedule Dialog Box. Delete Confirmation Dialog Box. Delete Report Dialog Box. Disconnect from Sites Dialog Box. Display Name Properties Dialog Box. Domain Properties Dialog Box. Filter Status Messages Dialog Box. Find Status Message Dialog Box. Generic Account Dialog Box.

Input Query Value Dialog Box. Inventoried File Properties Dialog Box. Inventoried File Properties Mobile Devices. Inventory Name Properties Dialog Box. Item Name Dialog Box. Move Items Dialog Box. Network Settings Dialog Box.

New Boundaries Dialog Box. New Domain Dialog Box. New File Dialog Box. New Folder Dialog Box. New Permitted Viewer Dialog Box. New Roaming Boundary Dialog Box. New Boundary Dialog Box. New Source Dialog Box. New Subnet Assignment Dialog Box. New Variable Dialog Box. Out of Band Management Console. Path Properties Dialog Box. Port Detail Dialog Box. Power Plan Properties Dialog Box. Program Select Dialog Box. Prompt Properties Dialog Box. Query Information Dialog Box. Report Options Dialog Box.

Search Computer Dialog Box. Search Folder Criteria Dialog Box. Search Text Dialog Box. Select a Boot Image Dialog Box. Select a Boot Image. Select a Driver Dialog Box. Select a Package Dialog Box. Select a Task Sequence Dialog Box. I just came on here to make sure he really got rid of it and to make sure if any else had to do something else to completely get rid of it and to help anyone else out.

Make sure you delete the file in your temp folder that will help with the system restore. I believe my friend got rid of it but making sure of it was for his sake. The sporadic problem with my monitor's screen suddenly going black hasn't happened; since I turned on my pc about 30 mins ago. Malware that they don't target is usually older types that might not have been seen for a few years and they leave that kind of protection up to the anti-virus software vendors. When I do the "Disk Clean Up" maintenance on my pc.

Have a great weekend. Anyway; I turned on my pc a couple hours ago to get any new emails. A few hours ago, when I got on my pc and before I saw your emailed reply message. But, here's my question. If, it were the same Trojan that you mentioned in your message which Malwarebytes had quarantined last night and I continued to get those sporadic screen blackouts even after it had been quarantined. Wouldn't those blackouts have stopped happening right then? Avast is a very popular antivirus program and many users like it.

I prefer to use Microsoft Security Essentials , but there's no problem if you choose to use Avast instead. Since MalwareBytes is not actually an antivirus, it's OK to run Avast and MalwareBytes together at the same time, they can complement each other. As for the Disk Cleanup, it is safe to remove those memory dump files.

Those are generated automatically when a failure occurs, and can be used for very intensive troubleshooting when required, but they aren't really useful for normal folks not even for me haha!

It's been a month-and-a-half since your problems, but they may not be over. When a Trojan puts a virus into your system it can, 1, create the virus application from scratch which it then adds as a service to be unknowingly run by Windows on startup, or 2, "inject" the virus into an existing Windows system program, driver, or library routine.

If it has "injected" per method 2, then when an anti-virus program "removes" the virus, your Windows system is left damaged -- the anti-virus program has no way to replace the code that the virus "injected" and put back the original system code. Either revert to a previous restore point, or perform a system refresh beginning with the original copy of Windows followed by any service packs that have been issued for that version of Windows.

Restoring is a lot easier and faster than refreshing, plus after a restore, you might only need to reinstall or reconfigure a few recent applications or not, depending upon what you've done since your last restore point was created , whereas with a refresh you run the risk of losing everything so, back up now! However, if you know how to do the refresh which partly depends of which version of Windows you are running , it can yield better results than a restore because you won't lose anything.

In other words, a flubbed refresh could lose everything, or if successful, lose nothing, whereas a restore will always lose something, but it is easy to do and if you remember what you did since your last restore point, it is simpler.

Why am I telling you this? Because you may find your system is flaky since the anti-virus application "cleaned" your system because of the damage to syste code that was left behind.

A "successful" virus doesn't want to cause such damage, so it may take some time for you to discover something that doesn't quite work right -- understand? From what you wrote, I'd guess that the system code that the virus "injected" messed up your video driver. You may have already reinstalled that driver, and if so, you may be done! Tell us about your experience with our site.

TRReeves Created on July 24, Within that box is stated; "Do you want to allow the following program to make changes to this computer? Clicking on the "Show Details" button within that box; it, then, states the "Program Location: This thread is locked.

You can follow the question or vote as helpful, but you cannot reply to this thread. I have the same question Thanks for marking this as the answer.

Administrator vs. Standard User Accounts